Okay, here’s the thing. I’m about to start posting The Longest Night which is a pretty massive story. There’s a lot of detail and a bunch of characters and a fair amount of historical doohickies that I thought some people might be interested in as background. But probably not.

Any road, I’m going to post some links to research and junk. The first one is the Holmesian Chronology I followed…

There are a bunch of views out there on which story happened when in the lives of Holmes and Watson. You kind of have to pick one if you’re going to do any back story and since I did I picked a relatively simple one that was easily comprehensible by my tiny brain.

I’m using the Canonical Chronology found on Mr. Frankland’s page which has a lot of great information (although I probably wouldn’t mention you’re a slasher if you leave a note 🙂 ).

The stories I reference in The Longest Night (often really tangentially) in no particular order are:

  • The Stock-Broker’s Clerk
  • The Copper Beeches
  • The Man with the Twisted Lip
  • The Greek Interpreter
  • A Scandal in Bohemia
  • The Dying Detective
  • The Valley of Fear
  • The Sign of Four
  • (and mainly) The Final Problem & The Empty House

I can’t guarantee I’ve got things right but I have done my best so Here’s luck! and I hope you find something interesting to enjoy…

